PPG Board of Directors recognised as ‘Public Company Board of the Year’

12 May 2023

PPG’s Board of Directors was recognised by the National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD) Three Rivers Chapter as “Public Company Board of the Year.” The annual NACD Three Rivers Director of the Year Awards celebrate excellence in the boardroom among companies and directors of public, private and nonprofit boards on which they serve and advance exemplary board leadership.

“We are honoured to be recognised for our Board’s strong governance and valuable contributions toward continuous improvement,” said Tim Knavish, PPG President and CEO (pictured). “These awards celebrate directors who lead through innovation, courage, integrity, and commitment, reflecting PPG’s dedication to our stakeholders by driving profitable growth, strengthening shareholder value and making a positive difference in our communities.”

In addition, NACD Three Rivers presented its Lifetime Achievement in Governance Posthumous Award in memory of former PPG Chief Financial Officer Bill Hernandez. NACD honoured Hernandez’s legacy of leadership, including his tremendous contributions to PPG, where he worked in corporate finance for nearly 20 years. Hernandez began as controller at PPG in 1990 and retired in 2009.

“PPG was very fortunate to have a person of Bill’s calibre as CFO during a period of dramatic change for our company and the global economy,” said Knavish. “His reputation in the chemicals and coatings industries, and among his peers, is clear testimony to his career success and overall integrity. He was the consummate professional with an extremely keen financial mind. He also had a great sense of humour, a very friendly demeanour and was loved by employees throughout our company.”

NACD, the authority on boardroom practices representing more than 23,000 directors, is the leading organisation dedicated to enhancing corporate governance in the United States. Its Three Rivers Chapter includes Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Cincinnati and Buffalo.

The 2023 Director of the Year Awards were presented at a gala on May 11, 2023, at the Fairmont Hotel in Pittsburgh.

< Previous article

ECHA regulatory changes favourably positions Hexion’s VersaticTM Acid 10

Next article >

USA: PHMSA extends comment period for proposed rulemaking HM 219D