Winners of the 2024 IChemE Medals announced

05 March 2024

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2024 medals and prizes. Eight individuals and five groups have been recognised  by the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committee for their exceptional contribution to the field of chemical and process engineering.

IChemE medals and prizes are awarded annually and celebrate the remarkable achievements of individuals, universities and companies, encompassing an array of talent from both industry and academia.

Professor Mark Simmons FIChemE, Chair of the IChemE Medals and Prizes Committee, said: “We are delighted to award these individuals and teams our profession’s highest accolades. Chemical engineers are constantly creating important new frontiers through their collective pursuit of knowledge, innovation, and positive impact, and this was evident in the impressive breadth and scope of the nominations. The submissions demonstrated world-leading examples of research, teaching and thought leadership, as well as outstanding volunteer service.”

Nigel Hirst, IChemE President, added: “I am proud to commend these extraordinary contributions made by the chemical engineering community. The IChemE medals and prizes honour and celebrate those who are helping to shape the world with groundbreaking work, exceptional expertise, and dedicated progress towards addressing our global challenges. Congratulations to all of our very worthy winners, who have set an inspiring standard of excellence for us all!”

Individual awards

Ambassador Prize                                             Jennifer Aitken (posthumous award)

Davidson Medal                                                Vince Pizzoni

Franklin Medal                                                  Gus Carroll         

Greene Medal                                                   Geoff Maitland

Junior Sargent Medal                                       Qi Zhang

Morton Medal                                                   Thomas Rodgers

Nicklin Medal                                                     Binjian Nie

Trustees Medal                                                  Margaret Donnan

Team awards

Hanson Medal                                                   Team from University of Melbourne, Australia

Hutchison Medal (joint award)                       Team from University of Minnesota, USA

Team from Shanghai Maritime University, China, and Tongji University, China

Macnab-Lacey Prize                                   Team from University College London, UK

Senior Moulton Medal                                     Team from Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

The medal winner’s achievements will be recognised and celebrated during webinars taking place throughout the year.

Nominations and entries for the 2025 IChemE Medals and Prizes will open on 2 April 2024.

Related keywords

< Previous article

Black&Light: New black UV epoxies

Next article >

Sherwin-Williams’ Karl Jorgenrud appointed as a new NAM Board Members