IChemE medal nominations 2015 – now open

01 October 2015

The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is calling on the profession to put forward their nominations for the latest round of medals and prizes. This year’s medals recognise excellence in 20 categories, covering outstanding research, career achievements and services to the profession and Institution.

IChemE director of publications, Claudia Flavell-While said: "Since the introduction of new medals in recent years, the chemical engineering profession is now well represented – for both individuals and groups – across all ages and sectors.”

"Each award has its own specific criteria, but overall they recognise the profession’s unsung heroes.

"They include promising young talent, advocates for the profession and achievements that have made an impact on important economic, environmental and societal issues.”

Flavell-While added that the medals also celebrate some of our most illustrious chemical engineering luminaries from across the globe."By perpetuating their names and historic achievements, their legacy will continue well into the future.”

Nominations close 31 October. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Visit www.icheme.org to download the nomination form or to view the judging criteria for individual medals. For all other enquiries, contact medals@icheme.org.

IChemE medals

Ambassador prize
The Ambassador prize is awarded to an IChemE member who has made an exceptional contribution the profession and Institution. The prize is typically awarded in recognition of a sustained period of work on a short to medium term project.

Andrew Medal
In memory of Professor Syd Andrew, the Andrew Medal recognises a major contribution in the field of heterogeneous catalysts.

Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot Medal
The medal recognises a major contribution to research in the area of transport phenomena.

Collier Medal
John Collier is a former president of IChemE. His medal is co-sponsored by IChemE, Royal Society and Royal Academy of Engineering. It is awarded in the field of energy, including the interface between energy, the environment and technology.

Council Medal
The Council medal is awarded to an individual who has given exceptional service on an IChemE special project.

George E Davis Medal
Named after the founding father of the chemical engineering profession, the George E Davis medal recognises an eminent individual in the profession.

Donald Medal
The Donald medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services in biochemical engineering. It is names after Honorary Secretary and former Ramsay Professor at University College London, Maxwell Donald.

Franklin Medal
Ned Franklin is a former IChemE president who worked in the nuclear industry. His medal recognises outstanding service in occupational health, safety, loss prevention and care for the environment.

Arnold Greene Medal
[Frank] Arnold Greene was a founder member of IChemE who served as President in 1943-44 and also held the post of Honorary Treasurer. The medal is awarded each year for the most meritorious long-term contribution to the progress of IChemE.

Hanson Medal
The Hanson medal is for the best contributor to the Institution’s magazine tce (the chemical engineer) each year and is named after a past chairman of tce’s editorial advisory board.

Hebden Medal
This medal is named Dr Dennis Hebden, an employee of British Gas, and is awarded for outstanding service in the field of gasification research, development and commercialisation.

Hutchison Medal
The Hutchison medal is named in memory of Sir Kenneth Hutchison CBE, president of IChemE in 1959-1960. The medal is awarded for practical and wide-ranging, philosophical or thought-provoking published papers.

Frank Lees Medal
Frank Lees was a professor at Loughborough University and his medal is awarded to the most meritorious publication on the topic of safety and loss prevention in an IChemE publication.

Macnab-Lacey Prize
The Macnab-Lacey prize is awarded to a student design project that best shows how chemical engineering practice can contribute to a more sustainable world. The prize is open to all design projects involving students on courses accredited by IChemE.

Senior Moulton Medal
Lord Moulton is known for the development of chemical engineering during the 1914-18 war when he took charge of explosives supply. The Senior Moulton medal is awarded to the author, or authors, of a mature nature, for the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year.

Junior Moulton Medal
The Junior Moulton medal follows the same criteria as the Senior Moulton medal. It recognises the most meritorious paper published by IChemE during the last year by the author, or co-author, who has graduated within the last ten years (excluding career breaks) at the time of submission of the paper.

Frank Morton Medal
Former president, professor Frank Morton’s commitment to teaching is commemorated with his medal which recognises excellence in chemical engineering education.

Nicklin Medal
The Early Careers medal recognises and rewards up–and-coming researchers, active in any research area within chemical and process engineering.

MN Sharma Medal
This medal recognises sustained outstanding research contributions in chemical engineering across an individual’s career.

Sargent Medal
Named after Roger Sargent, former president of IChemE and professor of chemical engineering at Imperial College, the medal recognise a major contribution to research in the area of computer-aided product and process engineering.

< Previous article

Experience Composites

Next article >

Araldite Industrial Adhesives website extended